Inside the Mind of the Maharishi Jogi

Three games, three times the same line up – Jérôme Boateng’s one match suspension aside – and everyone expecting more of the same for this evening’s quarter-final against Greece.

Then we see this evening’s team sheet. Mario Gómez, Thomas Müller and Lukas Podolski on the bench. Miroslav Klose, André Schürrle and Marco Reus in. The latter without having played even a second in the tournament. What’s going on?

Has Jogi Löw given in to Reus’ pleas for a start? Has he been in secret mental communion with a certain “Quälix” Magath? Or is he just being the Maharishi Jogi – the enigmatic, blue sweater-wearing Swabian whose tactical mind remains a complete mystery?

It’s a completely new look for the offensive unit, and the intention is clear: the coach intends to scour the grease with Özil and co. No mercy.

Here’s the new-look starting eleven – with the defence back up to full strength with the return of Boateng:

Boateng, Hummels, Badstuber, Lahm – Khedira, Schweinsteiger – Reus, Özil, Schürrle – Klose

Auf geht’s!

Inside the Mind of the Maharishi Jogi
Tagged on:                                                 

One thought on “Inside the Mind of the Maharishi Jogi

  • June 22, 2012 at 22:11

    A great result and class performance. The changes made by Jogi might have been questioned by some but he always had the possibility of bringing on the players he left out. Samaras was lucky to stay on the pitch after his scythe on Sami and tackle on Schweini. I thought Boateng played well and was unlucky with the hand-ball decision and also the Samaras goal – his shirt was tugged by Samaras prior to the goal. Hummels was again imperious – what a tackle it was he made. All four of our goals were great – wonderful half volley from Lahm and the volleys from Khedira and Reus were exceptional, and even though the keeper was at fault, Miro leaped well to nod in. Once again, Özil was sublime. Bring on Italy or England!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.